Skip to content

The Official 2010 Congressional Election List

March 1, 2010
tags: 2010 House, MS-01, MS-04, MS-03, MS-02
by Brett

We have been following the candidates and possible candidates on the 2010 list, and now we have the official list as today is the March 1 is the deadline to qualify. The rundown is below.

In each list, incumbents are listed first. That is followed by challengers, along with their campaign website (if available). I also included 2008 election data, the district’s partisan voting index, and the current race rating.

And finally, if you notice anything that is wrong, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

MS-01: In 2008, Travis Childers defeated Southaven Mayor Greg Davis 54-44. The current Cook PVI is R+14.

Travis Childers (D, i), official website
Alan Nunnelee (R), official website
Angela McGlowan (R), official website
Henry Ross (R), official website
Gail Giaramita (C)
Harold Taylor (L)
Barbara Dale Washer (Ref)
A.G. Baddley (I)
Les Green (I), official website
Rick ‘Rico’ Hoskins (I)
Wally Pang (I)

We rate this race as a Toss-up.

MS-02: In 2008, Bennie Thompson defeated Richard Cook 69-31. The current Cook PVI is D+12.

Bennie Thompson (D,i), official website
Bill Marcy (R)
George Bailey (R)
Richard Cook (R), official website
Ashley Norwood (Ref)

We rate this race as Safe Democrat.

MS-03: In 2008, Gregg Harper defeated Joel Gill 63-36. The current Cook PVI is R+15.

Gregg Harper (R,i), official website
James Jackson (D)
Joel Gill (D), official website
Shawn O’Hara (D)
Tracella Lou O’Hara Hill (Ref)

We rate this race as Safe Republican.

MS-04: In 2008, Gene Taylor defeated John McCay 75-24. The current Cook PVI is R+20.

Gene Taylor (D,i), official website
Joe Tegerdine (R), official website
Steven Palazzo (R), official website
Tim Hampton (L), official website
Anna Jewel Revies (Ref)

We rate this race as Safe Democrat.

Notes: R= Republican, D= Democrat, C= Constitution, L= Libertarian, Ref= Reform, I= Independent, i= incumbent

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tea Party Leader II permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:51 am


    This is a great piece of information. Thanks for putting it all together for us.

  2. CaptDeacon permalink
    March 2, 2010 12:18 pm

    Great piece of work pulling this all together! Down here in the 4th District Joe Tegerdine is going to eliminate that “safe democrat” label. Joe Tegerdine is running on a platform to support the Constitution, limited government, fiscal responsibility, and strong national defense. Overall we need a Representative here who will represent us in Washington rather than trying to represent Washington to us.

  3. Raiseya permalink
    March 3, 2010 8:27 pm

    Hmm so the 4th is rated ‘Safe Democrat’. As the Scott Brown election showed, there are virtually no safe democrats. Joe Tegerdine will move MS and America forward and has my full support. It is time for real change in DC.

  4. B Linda permalink
    March 4, 2010 4:25 am

    Raiseya you and I think alike. I think it so odd that the incumbent is “safe” on any list. Is that the wish N Blue Dogs list? LOL
    If that is so why is our incumbent reducing his town hall shout down meetings in half and when he attends, he stalls, refuses to answer questions, is rude to voters, and feels entitled to all our gratitude for his failure to show up to the vital health care meeting since there was a band playing town.

  5. Mike permalink
    March 5, 2010 6:58 pm

    Thanks Brett… it will be interesting to see how Taylor works his voting record from now till November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <pre> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>