Site icon Majority News

BP Contributions to Federal Candidates

Here is a breakdown of campaign contributions members of Mississippi Congressional delegation have received from BP dating back to 1998 (according to Open Secrets which has very neatly outlined this information nationally):

– BP PAC has not given any money to Mississippi federal candidates for the 2010 election cycle as of the First Quarter fundraising reports.

– Representatives Gregg Harper (R) and Travis Childers (D), both winning a first term in 2008, have not directly received money from BP PAC.

– Rep. Bennie Thompson (D) has received $2,000 from BP PAC- $1,000 each in 2006 and 2008. You may remember 2006 was the year Democrats won the majority in Congress and Thompson became Chairman of the House Homeland Security Committee.

– Rep. Gene Taylor (D) has received $3,500 from BP PAC. This includes $500 in 1998, and $1,000 each in 2000, 2006 and 2008.

– Sen. Roger Wicker (R) has also received $3,500 from BP PAC during that time. This includes both his career in the House and Senate. Wicker received $1,000 each in 2000, 2006, and 2008, along with a $500 donation in 2002.

– Sen. Thad Cochran (R) has received contributions in each of his election years this decade totaling $3,000. He received $2,000 in 2002 and $1,000 in 2008.

Retired Office Holders

– Two of the biggest receipts of BP PAC money in Mississippi during the past 12 years are no longer public officials. Former Sen. Trent Lott (R) received $9,000 from BP PAC ($4,000 in 2006, $5,000 in 1998) and former Rep. Chip Pickering (R) received $6,500 during that time ($2,000 in 2004 and 2006, $1,500 in 2002, and $500 in 1998 and 2000). Former Rep. Ronnie Shows (D) received a $500 contribution in 2000.


– BP PAC has also donated money to other federal PACs. Probably the PAC that receives the most play in Mississippi is the Blue Dog PAC, which supports Democrats like Taylor and Childers. In the past three election cycles, BP PAC has given a total of $13,500 to the Blue Dog PAC ($1,000 in 2006, $10,000 in 2008, and $2,500 in 2010).


Exit mobile version