Skip to content

Taking A Look at Marion County

June 17, 2010
tags: Marion county
by Brett

I certainly won’t pretend to be an expert on Marion county politics, but anytime there is a party switch I like to look at the electorate and see what this may mean for the next election.

Just looking at primary vote numbers, Marion county wasn’t different than most rural counties in the state- the voters tend to vote in the Democratic primary. In 2007, about 6,400 people voted in the Democratic primary compared to just 2,200 on the Republican side. However, this didn’t translate into votes for the Democratic ticket. Haley Barbour won a little more than 59 percent of the vote in the county, while Phil Bryant racked up more than 64 percent in his race. On the national level, John McCain won the county with 66 percent (outperforming his 56 percent total in the state) while Roger Wicker won about 61 percent of the vote that same day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. MSDawg permalink
    June 17, 2010 3:55 pm

    Furthermore, the supervisor and justice court judge who switched represent the most conservative districts in the county, making it a no brainier for them to do so.

    • June 17, 2010 4:30 pm

      Good info. Here is a story about the switch from the Marion Co Informer w/ quotes from Dyess-

  2. INDEPNMS permalink
    June 17, 2010 4:35 pm

    If I were an average voter in Marion county and knew these elected officals, I would ask myself, “what is it that they know that I don’t?”
    Apparently even in Marion county the down reaching poison of Pelossi and her gang is so toxic that it may kill off even state and local officials chances of election. I commend these candidates for demonstrating a sense of conscience and back bone. Welcome to the fold of those who wish to see Mississippi survive this mess and then thrive on the other side. Remember November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <pre> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>