Skip to content

Three More Elected Democrats Join GOP

June 17, 2010
tags: Charles F. Broome, Gwen Broom, Mississippi GOP, party switch, Randy Dyess
by Brett

The Mississippi Republican Party just announced that three more elected Democrats have joined the Republican Party making a total of 13 since January, 2009. These three officials are from Marion County and include Supervisor Randy Dyess, Justice Court Judge Gwen Broom, and Election Commissioner Charles F. Broome. The press release from the Mississippi GOP is below:

Today, three elected officials in Marion County announced the switching of their party affiliation from the Democratic Party to the Mississippi Republican Party. Supervisor Randy Dyess, Justice Court Judge Gwen Broom, and Election Commissioner Charles F. Broome joined the ranks of current Marion County Republicans District Attorney Hal Kittrell, Sheriff Berkley Hall, Constable Paul Barber, Election Commissioner Van Lowry, Jr. and County Attorney Scott Phillips to increase the GOP presence in the county.

“The Mississippi Republican Party continues to grow. Some folks, who have not been highly involved in the past, have seen what Washington Democrats are doing and are getting involved to fight those bad policies,” said Governor Haley Barbour. “Others, like these three Marion County elected officials, have long been involved and long been conservative and now have determined their home is in the Republican Party.”

“This announcement shows the liberal policies of the national Democratic Party and even the Mississippi Democratic Party no longer fits with the average Mississippian,” said Mississippi Republican Party Chairman Brad White. “For many years, conservatives still sought a home in the Democratic Party on the county level – at the local courthouse. But now, even there, elected officials are determining the home for their conservative values is the Republican Party.”

Representatives Billy Nicholson (District 78) and Scott Bounds (District 44); District Attorney Eddie Bowen (Smith, Jasper, Covington, Simpson Counties); Neshoba County Chancery Clerk Larry McMillan; and from Simpson County Sheriff Kenneth Lewis, Supervisor Mickey Berry, Circuit Clerk Cindy Jensen, Justice Court Judge Eugene Knight, Constable Dan Easterling; and D’Lo Alderman Michael Shoemaker are additional elected officials who in the past two years have left the Democratic Party for the Republican Party.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grizz permalink
    June 17, 2010 10:25 am

    BEWARE- a traitor can turn more than once-this is no doubt just a political ploy to get re-elected. never look a gift horse in the mouth?? HA– make sure the hay he is chewing isn’t yours–

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS