Skip to content

Runoff Results From Yesterday

November 24, 2010
tags: judicial elections
by Brett

Had a number of runoffs yesterday for various down-ticket offices. Here are the results that we have seen:

Chancery Judge District 10 Place 2: Dawn Beam defeated Scott Phillips.
This covers Forrest, Lamar, Marion, Pearl River and Perry counties.

Chancery Judge District 13 Place 1: David Shoemake defeated Larry Buffington.
This covers Covington, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Simpson and Smith counties. Buffington was a 16 year incumbent.

Circuit Judge District 13: Eddie Bowen defeated Wilton McNair.
This covers Covington, Jasper, Simpson and Smith counties. Bowen was appointed by Haley Barbour following the death of Robert Evans.

Circuit Judge District 16 Place 3: Lee Coleman defeated Nebra Porter.
This covers Clay, Oktibbeha, Lowndes, and Noxubee counties. This is a newly created seat.

Circuit Judge District 17 Place 4: Gerald Chatham defeated Stan Little.
This covers DeSoto, Tate, Panola, Tallahatchie and Yalobusha counties. This is a newly created seat. There was a dispute last week over a Tea Party endorsement for Chatham. Chatham approved leaflets touting the endorsement, but that was found to be in violation for aligning with a party or political faction.

Hinds County Court Judge: Melvin Priester defeated Brent Southern.

Madison County Court Judge: Steve Ratcliff defeated Will Longwitz.
Longwitz had received the endorsements of Haley Barbour, Phil Bryant and former GOP Chairman Jim Herring. Also of interest, a negative phone call went out Monday evening accusing Longwitz of being a puppet of Madison Mayor Mary Hawkins Butler.

Panola County Justice Court Judge District 1: Mike Wilson defeated Hal Johnson.

Warren County Justice Court Judge: James Jefferson defeated Rudolph Walker.

George County Sheriff: Tony Keel defeated Bobby Fairley.
This race was to fill the remainder of the term following the death of Sheriff Garry Welford; who was tragically killed on duty last summer.

Panola County Sheriff: Otis Griffin defeated Dennis Darby.
Griffin was appointed interim Sheriff in 2009 following the death of Sheriff Hugh “Shot” Bright.

Prentiss County Superintendent of Education: Randle Downs defeated Kenneth Chism.

Pearl River Supervisor District 2: Joyce Culpepper defeated Daryl Smith.
Joyce Culpepper was appointed interim Supervisor in 2009 following the death of her husband, Charles Culpepper.

Lee County District 1 Constable: Scotty Clark defeated Joe Huckaby.

Brian Perry has some more information, including the percentages each candidate received, on his blog.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <pre> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>