Skip to content

Running List of Party Switchers

January 6, 2011

We are using this post to keep track of Democrats who qualify for re-election as Republicans. This will be updated frequently, and available for easy reference on the Hot List tab. Please if you know of any other Democrats who have switched parties.

Last update: Tuesday, March 8, 2011.

State legislature
Sen. Ezell Lee (District 41)
Rep. Russ Nowell (District 43)
Rep. Margaret Rogers (District 14)

Perry County
Superintendent of Education Scott Dearman

Webster County
Superintendent of Education Jimmy Pittman

Lincoln County
Chancery Clerk Tillmon Bishop

Jones County
Sheriff Alex Hodge
District Attorney Tony Buckley
Circuit Clerk Bart Gavin
County Attorney Wayne Thompson
Justice Court Judge Howell Beech
Supervisor Andy Dial
Supervisor Danny Roy Spradley

Forrest County
Sheriff Billy McGee
Circuit Clerk Lou Ellen Adams
Chancery Clerk Jimmy Harvard

Lee County
Sheriff Jim Johnson
District One Justice Court Judge Pat Carr
District Two Justice Court Judge John Sheffield
District Two Constable Ted Wood

Hancock County
Tax Assessor Jimmy Ladner
Circuit Clerk Karen Ruhr
Chancery Clerk Tim Kellar
Superintendent of Education Alan Dedeaux

Winston County
Sheriff Randy Thomas

Note: Here are the former Democrats who publicly switched parties (going back to 2009) before they were able to qualify:

Central District Public Service Commissioner Lynn Posey
Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (District 39)
Representative Billy Nicholson (District 78)
Representative Scott Bounds (District 44)
Representative Bobby Shows (District 89)
District Attorney Eddie Bowen (Smith, Jasper, Covington, Simpson Counties)

Neshoba County
Chancery Clerk Larry McMillan

Simpson County
Superintendent of Education Joe Welch
Sheriff Kenneth Lewis
Supervisor Mickey Berry
Circuit Clerk Cindy Jensen
Justice Court Judge Eugene Knight
Constable Dan Easterling
(Town of D’Lo) Alderman Michael Shoemaker

Marion County
Supervisor Randy Dyess
Justice Court Judge Gwen Broom
Election Commissioner Charles F. Broome

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony permalink
    January 9, 2011 5:42 pm

    In Lee County Justice Court Judge District 2 Judge John Sheffield has qualified as a Republican. He is a twenty year veteren of this position.

    • January 9, 2011 5:55 pm

      Thanks for the update. I had been hearing that was a possibility. Getting very interesting.

      • Tony permalink
        January 9, 2011 9:44 pm

        This is the year Lee County moves from being a conservative county to a Republican county. Most local races will have a Republican candidate, and many for the first time will have primary battles. Not to mention come November many elected officials will have an R by their name for the first time ever. If anyone wants to help us in Lee County please contact me at Hopefully in the years to come this will spread to the other conservative counties in north MS


  1. 2 more legislators switch to GOP – 28 Dems so far in 2 years « Right of Mississippi

What are you thinking?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Gravatar Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s