Skip to content

Early House Qualifying Notes

February 15, 2011
tags: 2011 State House
by Brett

With the Mississippi Republicans and Democrats posting their current list of qualified candidates on their websites, we have some new nuggets to dive in to. Here are some notes on qualifiers for the House of Representatives.

- All Republicans have announced their plans (either to run for re-election, retire, or run for higher office) except for Frank Hamilton. Hamilton would face at least two Republican primary challengers if he ran for re-election although no Democrat has qualified.

- Still a lot of big names on the Democratic side who have not qualified: Speaker Billy McCoy, Warner McBride, Jeff Smith, Bennett Malone, Mary Ann Stevens, Bobby Moak, George Flaggs, Johnny Stringer, Dirk Dedeaux, Diane Peranich, and J.P. Compretta. And this is just a partial list.

- Jeff Smith is very interesting. I doubt anyone runs against him, but we are waiting to see what party he qualifies for re-election as. An independent run is very likely.

- So far, no Democrats have qualified to run against any of the five Republicans who have changed parties over the past few years and are running for re-election.

- Democrat Jack Gadd is one of a half-dozen Jeff Smith supporters left in the Democratic caucus but has opted not to run for re-election. No Republican has entered the race yet, but two Democrats are lined up to run.

- Districts where candidates have officially announced plans other than re-election (13, 35, 40, 78, 84, 119) all look likely to stay with the same party as the outgoing Representative.

Stay close by for similar information on the Senate side along with information on key races and candidates. But for the most complete information, take a look at the election tool-kit we are offering to readers.

Note: Made corrections to the status of Jack Gadd and Billy Nicholson, who have both opted against running for re-election.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. herb permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:04 am

    Jack Gadd is running for superintendent of education in Benton county

  2. rubradog permalink
    February 15, 2011 5:24 pm

    Word around the Capitol is that Frank Hamilton will retire and not run for re-election. Some of the Democrat names you mentioned appear to be waiting on what the redistricting map will look like before making a decision. Others are just being coy. Will Billy McCoy run again? I don’t think even he knows the answer to that one yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <pre> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>